37th Academy Award Ceremony

Date: April 5, 1965

Best Picture

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Peter Ustinov for Topkapi

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Lila Kedorva for Zorba the Greek

Best Director

Best Original Story & Screenplay

  • S.H. Barnett, Peter Stone, & Frank Tarloff for Father Goose

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Edward Anhalt for Becket

Best Cinematography, Colour

Best Cinematography, Black-and-White

  • Walter Lassally for Zorba the Greek

Best Art Direction-Set Decoration, Black-and-White

  • Vassilis Photopoulos for Zorba the Greek

Best Art Direction-Set Decoration, Colour

  • Gene Allen, Cecil Beaton, & George James Hopkins for My Fair Lady

Best Costume Design, Black-and-White

  • Dorothy Jeakins for The Night of the Iguana

Best Costume Design, Colour

Best Sound

Best Film Editing

Best Sound Effects

  • Norman Wanstall for Goldfinger

Best Special Visual Effects

  • Peter Ellenshaw, Hamilton Luske, & Eustace Lysett for Mary Poppins

Best Original Song

  • Richard M. Sherman & Robert B. Sherman for “Chim Chim Cher-ee” from Mary Poppins

Best Substantially Original Score

Best Music, Scoring of Adaptation or Treatment

Best Short Subject, Live-Action Subjects

  • Edward Schreiber for Casals Conducts: 1964

Best Short Subject, Cartoons

  • David H. DePatie & Friz Freleng for The Pink Phink

Best Documentary, Short Subjects

  • (Guggenheim Productions) for Nine from Little Rock

Best Documentary, Features

  • Jacques-Yves Cousteau for World Without Sun

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow (Italy)

Honourary Award

  • William Tuttle for 7 Faces of Dr. Lao